Compare solar companies, solar panels, and solar prices | SolarReviews (2022)

Amy W | Rosemount, Minnesota | 03/04/2022

Post-sales is TERRIBLE. $6,884 Rebate Not Filed

NOT RECOMMENDED. Exercise EXTREME caution! We were sold on a 7.26kw system with a very responsive sales person. After signing the contract though, extreme frustrations began. There were issues with installation delays, wrong production reporting, lower production than quoted and awful communication post-sales. Now we've discovered that a rebate they said they would file with our energy company was never filed. The rebate value was quoted at $6,884. I do not recommend Green Solar due the issues referenced above, but most prominently for failing to take responsibility for our $6,884 loss that was 100% their fault. I will update this if Green Solar ever admits their fault and makes it right. I have given them all the proof and every chance to correct the issue with no resolve. I will continue spreading the word on how Green Solar did not fulfill their contract and working for fair compensation.

read more

William | Texarkana, Arkansas | 02/19/2022

10 of 28 not working and never have.

Once these people get your money and you figure out half your panels dont work, good luck getting help. Its been almost a year from the first phone contact to buy a system and its still not complete and no body seems to be attentive. Its NOT cost neutral bc I'm still paying both electric bill and my loan payment for the $36,000 system on my roof. I'M NOT HAPPY AT ALL.

read more

(Video) Which Brand of Solar Panel is Best? Tesla vs. SunPower vs. LG

HB | New Hope, Pennsylvania | 02/02/2022

Good sales team, otherwise, terrible experience

After a lot of research determining the solar system to install in our home, we settled for a 30kW system with 80 LGNeon2-365, with Enphase microinverters, and 3 Empower 10 batteries for backup.Solar Edge was not the cheapest but competitive among the few that said that could provide such a system. After some negotiation over the contract terms, we signed the agreement on 10.05.2021 with the expectation to have the whole project completed between 120 and 180 days (according to the contract) even though we were assured that almost always they have it finalized within 120 days.After the agreement was signed we were informed that they were sending their local installer (we later learned it was a subcontract). Non satisfied with subcontracting the installation, GreenSolar handed the development of the design and vendor coordination/approval (required for full warranty) to the same contractor. Any time we reached out to the "project manager" for status updates, timelines, we received a response that he needed to check with the installer and once even gave us the installer number to handle directly with their subcontractor.After over 100 days without even a plan having been completed for submission to the township or our utility company, as required in the contract, we notified the company of their contractual breach regarding their "time is of the essence" clause.To our dismay, instead of offering an apology or a plan for resolution, we received an unprofessional response completely avoiding responsibility. Later that day the company Legal Counsel offered to terminate the agreement and provide a full refund. Long story short, we accepted the offer and are yet to receive our downpayment refunded. Would not work or recommend the company to anyone!!!

read more

After a very long and trying installation in 2019, we had a very functioning system. The materials used were of very high quality. Problem began when inverter failed. We notified the company and were promised that they stand behind their warranty. It has now been 2 months that the system has not been operational. Investment into "Solar" NOT paying off. We do not get call backs, burned out inverter not being replaced, no updates on progress of repair / replacement.Our thoughts are that the distance between California and Missouri makes it easy to ignore service commitment. Highly recommend doing business with Solar companies in location near installation site. Lesson hard learned!

read more

HB | New Hope, Pennsylvania | 01/14/2022

Good Sales team - No project plan or actual installers

The sales team is very efficient and worked not only to help fine-tune the equipment and size we were planning for but also very helpful in reviewing their standard contract and making changes to make it work for both parties.After we signed the agreement on 10.05.21 it became is clear that they subcontract their whole process to local installers including PMO, project design, and vendor relations.Is important to note that as of 01.14.22, the company is not accredited with the BBB, holding an F rating.Our planned system included 80 panels LG NEON 2-A6 365W (ground-mounted), 80 Enphase IQ7+ microinverters, 1 Enpower Smart Switch, and 3 Encharge 10 batteries, as well as 3 Enphase Sure Start. We are now at 101 days from the contract and Green Solar has not been able to develop a project plan to submit for approval. Their 'project manager' standard response is that the preliminary project is being discussed/reviewed with Enphase by the local installer who has been dealing directly with the vendor w/o participation of GreenSolar. We've reached out on multiple occasions and were unable to receive an actual project plan or status updates from the company.At this time, I have little to no confidence in the company's ability to deliver the project, let alone to provide after-sales services for the life of the warranty(ies).We recently sent them a formal communication of a material breach of contract and are waiting on a response to cancel/terminate the agreement.

read more

(Video) How Much do Solar Panels Cost in 2021?

Jerome K | Mitchell, IN | 11/16/2021

Beware be diligent

https://www.bbb.org/us/ca/north-hollywood/profile/solar-energy-contractors/green-solar-technologies-1216-349212/complaintsNote the Grade of F at the BBB. It is well deserved.Do your home work before believing these yahoos.

read more

Melissa Licklider | Warrenton, MO | 10/07/2021

Liars! If I could give them a 0 I would

Never told us everything when we first talked. Thought by what we were telling them we wanted and what they where saying that’s what we were getting no come to find out it wasn’t. The higher management Robbie Hebert is very rude won’t let you get a word in. Talks over you makes you feel like you did something wrong. Pretty much yells at you . Now I been trying to get ahold of my sales guy and Robbie since September because they owe me checks and no one will respond. This is how they do business? I wish I would have never went with them. They are ripping people off and don’t care who they hurt in the process. If you are reading this to think about solar go with someone else stay away from Green Solar!

read more

Steven Batch | Aransas Pass, Texas | 09/26/2021

$57,000 System that has not worked since November last year.

Fair warning. The system works great when working. The last year and half the system has only been working about 15% and the last six months it has not worked at all. We call customer service everyday. No call backs, no acknowledgments, nothing. They have ghost us as if we never purchase a system a system from them.

read more

(Video) I-Team: Hidden cameras reveal dark side of solar power

Broken System | Collinsville, Texas | 09/01/2021

Broken

Purchased a $38,000 solar system from Green Solar less then 2 years ago.System quit working July 27. Contacted Green Solar about 10 days ago about the problem. They have still not sent anyone out. Their guarantee is not worth spit

read more

FAQs

Which solar company is the cheapest? ›

Here's our list of the best affordable solar panels:
  • Silfab: Our overall pick.
  • Panasonic: Our pick for premium panels.
  • Q Cells: Our pick for warranty options.
  • Canadian Solar: Our pick for affordability.
  • LG: Our pick for accessibility.
  • Trina Solar: Our pick for value panels.
  • SunPower: Our pick for efficiency.
Jul 15, 2022

What is the cheapest price for solar panels? ›

In the United States, some of the cheapest solar panels per watt as of 2021 are Astronergy's $250 panel, which works out to about $0.70 per watt. American-owned Heliene, which also has a $250 panel with one of the cheapest prices per watt at $0.80.

What is the number 1 solar company in America? ›

The largest solar company in the U.S. is NextEra Energy, with a revenue of $17.069 billion and an market share of 2.37%. As of 2022, the U.S. solar industry has a market size of $12 billion.

What is the highest rated solar panel? ›

Review our top seven picks for solar panels for homes:
  • Silfab: Our overall pick.
  • SunPower: Our pick for efficiency.
  • Panasonic: Our pick for premium panels.
  • LG: Our pick for accessibility.
  • Q Cells: Our pick for warranty options.
  • Canadian Solar: Our pick for affordability.
  • Trina Solar: Our pick for value panels.
Jul 15, 2022

What is the best way to buy solar panels? ›

Best Ways to Pay for Your Panels
  1. Cash. Buying your solar electric system outright is best. ...
  2. Home Equity Loan. If you need to finance your solar panel purchase, the most cost-effective way to do it is to use a home equity loan or a home equity line of credit. ...
  3. Solar Loan. There are unsecured and secured solar loans.
Jun 30, 2016

How long do solar panels last? ›

Solar panels, also known as photovoltaic or PV panels, are made to last more than 25 years. In fact, many solar panels installed as early as the 1980s are still working at expected capacity. Not only are solar panels remarkably reliable, solar panel longevity has increased dramatically over the last 20 years.

How do I choose a solar panel company? ›

7 Steps to Choosing a Solar Company
  1. Step 1: Identify the Solar Company Type. ...
  2. Step 2: Get Multiple Quotes from Solar Companies. ...
  3. Step 3: Choose a Solar Company with Expertise. ...
  4. Step 4: Check if the Solar Company is Licensed and Insured. ...
  5. Step 5: Check their Track Record and Experience.

What are the 3 types of solar panels? ›

In this blog we will explore the main three types of solar panel cells: polycrystalline, monocrystalline and thin-film. Understanding the difference between the three, is the very first step to selecting your perfect panel for your home, business or community.

How many solar panels are needed to run a house? ›

In India, monthly power consumption of an average household is 250 kWh. Therefor an average Indian house needs approximately 2.3 kW of solar system which is 7 solar panels each of 330 watts.

How much are Tesla solar panels? ›

How much do Tesla solar panels cost? Tesla solar panels range in price from $9,600 to $48,352, before incentives, depending on the system size that is best for your home. If you want to add energy storage to your system, each Tesla Powerwall will cost you an additional $11,000 before incentives.

Why solar panels are not worth it? ›

What are the main disadvantages to solar energy? Solar panels cannot store electricity, so you will have reduced power output in cloudy weather and zero power output at night. Because of this, most residential solar systems require a solar battery.

How long does it take for solar panels to pay for themselves? ›

For most homeowners in the U.S., it takes roughly eight years to break even on a solar panel investment. For example, if your solar installation cost is $16,000 and the system helps you conserve $2,000 annually on energy bills, then your payback period will be around eight years (16,000/2,000 = 8).

Does solar panels damage your roof? ›

For most homeowners, as long as your solar panels are properly installed, they shouldn't do damage to the exterior or the infrastructure of your roof. If you are working with a qualified licensed professional and your roof is in good condition, your solar panels won't affect the integrity of your roof.

Which is better sunrun vs SunPower? ›

Verdict: SunPower has a slight advantage over Sunrun in terms of the overall quality of their solar panels. The company produces high-quality panels through Maxeon Solar while Sunrun has to rely on third-party suppliers.

What is a good wattage for solar panels? ›

Use a low-wattage (150 W) and high-wattage (370 W) example to establish a range (ex: 17-42 panels to generate 11,000 kWh/year). Note that the size of your roof and how much sunlight your roof gets are factors as well. If you work with an experienced solar installer, they will handle all these calculations for you.

What is a Tier 1 solar panel? ›

Tier 1 solar panels are built with higher standards (to last longer and produce abundant solar power) and have a highly regarded reputation within the solar industry for quality and service so one can expect Tier 1 manufacturers to honor their product warranty compared to Tier 2 and Tier 3 manufacturers.

How can you tell the quality of a solar panel? ›

A high temperature coefficient is a sign of a lower quality solar panel. A reasonable number is around 0.5%, also the best solar panels down to 0.3% while 0.7% indicates a poor coefficient in terms of performance and thus a photovoltaic equipment not very reliable.

Can I get a government grant for solar panels? ›

You might not be able to get government-funded solar PV panels installed on your roof but in a few years the solar panels can pay for themselves through energy bill savings and government incentive payments, such as the Renewable Heat Incentive. You don't need to be receiving benefits!

Can a house run on solar power alone? ›

Can I Run My Whole House on Solar Energy? With a modern solar energy system, including power storage, you can definitely run a whole house completely on solar power. Today's high-efficiency solar panels and solar batteries make it cheaper than ever before to power an entire home exclusively using solar energy.

How often do solar panels need maintenance? ›

The only regular maintenance needed for your solar panels is cleaning and an annual inspection. Otherwise, as long as your panels are working properly, they won't need additional maintenance throughout the year.

Do solar panels cause roof leaks? ›

Poor Installation

A common reason why a roof can leak is due to the company that installed the solar panels. Most solar companies work hard to prevent leaks, but there are some that do not use sub-roofing materials. Inexperienced sub-contractors can be the other reason for inadvertent damage to a roof.

What happens when power goes out and you have solar panels? ›

If you have solar panels installed on your roof or property they will continue to generate electricity during power outages, as they do every day because the panels still absorb sunlight and solar energy.

What should I watch out with solar companies? ›

Solar companies should be aware of and encourage any habits and upgrades that can maximize energy efficiency and savings for the consumer.
  • Energy use bills. ...
  • Energy-saving habits. ...
  • Supplemental home improvements. ...
  • Utility bill. ...
  • Solar loan payment. ...
  • Tax benefit considerations. ...
  • Solar panels. ...
  • Mounting hardware.

What questions should you ask before purchasing solar panels? ›

10 Questions to Ask Before Going Solar
  • Going solar should never be an impulse buy. ...
  • Why Should I Go Solar? ...
  • Is My House Right for Solar? ...
  • Is My Electricity Bill High Enough to Justify Going Solar? ...
  • How Should I Finance My Panels? ...
  • How Much Does Solar Cost? ...
  • How Much Money Will I Save with Solar?
Jan 3, 2020

Is SunPower a good company? ›

SunPower has been in the solar industry since 1985 and strives to provide a safe and reliable experience to customers. The San Jose, California based solar panel manufacturer and installer currently offers services in every state. The BBB gives SunPower an A+ rating, which is above the industry average.

What company is leading in solar energy? ›

1. Tata Power Solar. Tata Power Solar is Leading Top 10 Solar Companies in India.

Is SunPower a good company? ›

SunPower has been in the solar industry since 1985 and strives to provide a safe and reliable experience to customers. The San Jose, California based solar panel manufacturer and installer currently offers services in every state. The BBB gives SunPower an A+ rating, which is above the industry average.

How do I choose a solar installer? ›

Tips For Getting Solar Quotes
  1. Look for Solar Contractors with many years of experience and a solid track record.
  2. Choose authorized dealers of solar panel manufacturers for enhanced warranties.
  3. Check reviews for customer ratings and quality service.
  4. View installed systems in person.

Who is the largest solar company in the world? ›

The top 10 solar panel companies globally with the highest shipment capacity are, in order, LONGi Solar, Tongwei, JA Solar, Aiko Solar, Trina Solar, JinkoSolar, Canadian Solar, Zhongli, Suntech, and First Solar. What country is the largest producer of solar panels?

Videos

1. Is Solar Worth It? My experience after two years owning Solar Panels
(SuitTV)
2. 4 Year Update - Are Solar Panels for Home Still Worth It?
(Undecided with Matt Ferrell)
3. Arizona Solar Panels
(Solar Surge)
4. How to Choose the Best Solar Company
(SolarReviews)
5. Solar Panels: Are they worth it
(KPRC 2 Click2Houston)
6. Solar Panel Install Update and Honest Review of (aka Pink Energy) Powerhome Solar so far…..
(Jason Whitaker- The DIY DAD)

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Prof. An Powlowski

Last Updated: 06/26/2022

Views: 5806

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (64 voted)

Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Prof. An Powlowski

Birthday: 1992-09-29

Address: Apt. 994 8891 Orval Hill, Brittnyburgh, AZ 41023-0398

Phone: +26417467956738

Job: District Marketing Strategist

Hobby: Embroidery, Bodybuilding, Motor sports, Amateur radio, Wood carving, Whittling, Air sports

Introduction: My name is Prof. An Powlowski, I am a charming, helpful, attractive, good, graceful, thoughtful, vast person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.